So as a part of New Balance Ottawa's media team I get to do cool stuff every now and again. Apparently Canadian Olympians Eric Gillis and Reid Coolsaet will be stopping by our downtown Sports 4 location for an autograph session and yours truly will be shooting the event. Sounds like fun? I think so! Am I nervous? Hell yeah!

I always enter a session with my confident face on, but inside there's always a part of me that still twists and turns. The swirl of "what ifs" begins to circulate just before I get down to business, but as soon as game time comes it's time to put aside all that crap and do my job. When it comes to nerves, I think a healthy amount of fear can be enough to keep a guy like me (or even yourself perhaps) in check. There's a fine line between confidence and cockiness so be aware of what your capabilities are and never assume that you are above reproach. To be frank, I'm far too new at this game to be cocky anyway. I've been blessed with great opportunities like this and keeping that in perspective will be my foundation for all the work I produce as a photographer. Fact: Everything blessing can be taken away.

I'll probably shoot this event with my 55-200 lens just so I can get in close without invading anyone's private space. Since I'm not sure of the lighting, I'll most likely pack my SB-400 flash and SC-28  TTL remote cord to take her off camera. For composition purposes, I'll probably be cranking the aperture wide open to get a nice, shallow depth of field (blurring the background) and try to get away with a 400 ISO setting so the shots don't turn out too grainy.

Check back here for shots and updates! I'm super excited for this!
- Nate

 



Leave a Reply.

    Nathan the Asian Avenger

    I really just want to be part of the Avengers, that would be the best thing for me I think. Imagine putting that on a resume... How would you even word that? Work experience: Defender of the world at "The Avengers" 

    Archives

    May 2012

    Categories

    All